Château Haut-Goujon

Lalande de Pomerol – Montagne Saint-Emilion

Unique character

Through the application of sustainable farming practices in the vineyard, Château Haut-Goujon revitalizes and preserves the soil’s fertility, while at the same time increasing the vines’ natural resistance to microbial diseases. In this way, there is no need to apply corrective techniques in the cellar. The focus is on the difference between flavours and their authenticity rather than a banal standardization.

Generally clement weather: the Libourne area benefits from a climate that is both oceanic and continental, that is to say relatively temperate, but with occasional vagaries, that sometimes lead to spells of rain during the harvests!

haut-goujon-terroir-lalande-pomerol

An unusual terroir

Located in the north-west of the Lalande de Pomerol appellation, Château Haut-Goujon’s terroir consists of gravelly-sandy soil on the western side, and clay and gravel soil to the east. The subsoil has an unusual characteristic: consisting of clay and gravel from ancient alluvial deposits, it contains traces of iron oxide. It is the presence of the latter that gives the property’s wines their unique character.

Classic, high quality grape varieties

Château Haut-Goujon has 18 hectares of vines under three appellations:
Lalande de Pomerol (8 ha 55) – Montagne Saint Emilion (8 ha) – Bordeaux (1 ha 80).

Merlot is the star grape variety here, accounting for 75% of the vines.
14% Cabernet Sauvignon – 5% Cabernet Franc – 5% Malbec – 1% Petit Verdot.

All these varieties are included in a blend, with a view to creating elegant, wines with good complexity. The proximity of the plots results in a certain homogeneity of the terroirs which is reflected in the wines.

haut-goujon-cepage-pied-2

The harvests

After plot selection, and waiting for the grapes to reach optimal ripeness, a team of thirty pickers gently harvests the grapes by hand. A meticulous manual sorting operation then takes place before the grapes are transferred to vats.

Vinification

Carefully controlled vinification at every stage

Since the 2016 vintage, vinification takes place in modern stainless-steel vats.

All the vats are equipped with temperature control that allows precise regulation of the temperature, and a pneumatic punching down system to optimize the gentle extraction of refined, elegant tannins.

After maceration for 25 days, the solids are placed in a vertical press to obtain high quality press wines.

Malolactic fermentation takes place in barrels for certain wines, enabling them to acquire further complexity and personality.

 

FRUITINESS AND ELEGANCE ARE

THE DEFINING CHARACTERISTICS

OF THEIR IDENTITY

Maturing

Closely monitored maturing

A proportion of the wines are aged in dense, finely grained French oak barrels for 12 months, giving great finesse to the wine’s aromas and flavours.
This is an essential stage in the wines’ production, it is what enables them to acquire elegance and nobility, and express a true reflection of the terroir that has produced them.
We work in close collaboration with our cousin and neighbour, the cooper Vincent Darnajou, whose passion for working with wood is matched only by his passion for fine wine.

 

” Expertise, pride in work well done, with a love for the soil and what it enables us to produce: these are what motivate the Garde family, who have always strived to produce elegant, noble wines. For us, this is the best way to demonstrate our commitment to the terroir. “

haut-goujon-sepa-bas-blanc1

CONTACT

Independent Winegrower

3 Goujon, 33570 Montagne
Tél : 05 57 51 50 05 – Email : contact@chateauhautgoujon.fr

Follow us

Visit us

Map

Château Haut-Goujon

Lalande de Pomerol – Montagne Saint-Emilion

Un caractère unique

Par l’application des principes d’une lutte raisonnée dans la culture de ses vignobles, le Château Haut-Goujon vitalise et conserve la fertilité de ses sols, tout en rendant les pieds de vignes naturellement plus résistants à toutes les attaques microbiennes. Ainsi, les raisins n’ont pas besoin de subir de techniques correctives en cave. La différence et l’authenticité du goût sont privilégiées et préférées à une standardisation banalisante.

Une climatologie plutôt clémente : la région du Libournais bénéficie dans son ensemble d’un climat à la fois océanique et continental, c’est à dire relativement tempéré, mais avec quelques caprices météorologiques, entraînant parfois des passages pluvieux pendant la période des vendanges !

haut-goujon-terroir-lalande-pomerol

Un terroir original

Situé au nord-ouest de l’appellation Lalande de Pomerol, le terroir du château Haut-Goujon est composé, à l’ouest, de sols graveleux/sablonneux et à l’est, de sols d’argiles et de graves. Le sous-sol présente une particularité : argilo-graveleux provient d’anciennes alluvions et présente des traces d’oxyde de fer que l’on appelle également « crasse de fer ». C’est la présence de cette dernière qui confère aux vins de la propriété tout leur caractère.

Un encépagement classique et de qualité

Le vignoble du château Haut-Goujon compte 18 hectares, regroupant trois appellations :
Lalande de Pomerol (8 ha 55) – Montagne Saint-Émilion (8 ha) – Bordeaux (1 ha 80).

C’est le merlot qui en est le cépage-roi, il s’étend sur 75 % de cette superficie.
Le cabernet-sauvignon 14% – le cabernet franc 5% – le malbec 5% – le petit verdot 1%.

Tous ces cépages entrent dans un assemblage destiné à donner des vins élégants et d’une grande complexité. De la proximité des parcelles résulte une certaine homogénéité de terroirs qui se répercute sur les vins.

haut-goujon-cepage-pied-2

Les vendanges

A l’issue d’une sélection parcellaire, suivie par l’attente d’une maturité optimale, une équipe composée d’une trentaine de vendangeurs cueille chaque grappe de raisin avec délicatesse. Un tri manuel d’une grande minutie est effectué avant l’opération d’encuvage.

La vinification

Une vinification maîtrisée à chaque étape

Depuis le millésime 2016 nous effectuons la vinification dans un cuvier inox moderne.

Chaque cuve est équipée de la thermorégulation qui permet le contrôle précis des températures, et d’un système de pigeage pneumatique afin d’optimiser l’extraction de tanins fins et élégants tout en douceur.

Après une cuvaison de 25 jours, le marc est pressé avec une presse verticale afin d’obtenir des vins de presse de qualité.

La fermentation malolactique s’effectue en barriques pour certaines cuvées, ce qui leur permet d’acquérir une grande personnalité.

 

LEUR CÔTÉ FRUITÉ ET LEUR ÉLÉGANCE

SONT DES SIGNES CARACTÉRISTIQUES

DE LEUR IDENTITÉ

L’élevage

Un élevage sous haute surveillance

Pendant 12 mois, une partie des vins est élevée en fûts de chêne français, au grain dense et fin, qui transmettent au vin des arômes et des saveurs d’une grande finesse.
Cette étape est essentielle dans l’élaboration des vins, c’est celle qui leur permettra d’acquérir de l’élégance, de l’expression et de la noblesse, le véritable reflet du terroir dont ils sont issus.
Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec notre cousin et voisin artisan tonnelier V. Darnajou qui partage la passion du bois et du vin.

 

 » LE SAVOIR-FAIRE, LA FIERTÉ DU TRAVAIL BIEN FAIT, AVEC L’AMOUR DE LA TERRE ET DE CE QU’ELLE PERMET DE PRODUIRE, SONT LES MOTIVATIONS PROFONDES DE LA FAMILLE GARDE QUI A À COEUR DE PRODUIRE DES VINS D’ÉLÉGANCE ET DE NOBLESSE. C’EST POUR EUX LA MEILLEURE FAÇON DE PROUVER LEUR ATTACHEMENT À LEUR TERROIR. « 

haut-goujon-sepa-bas-blanc1

CONTACT

Vigneron indépendant

3 Goujon, 33570 Montagne
Tél : 05 57 51 50 05 – Email : contact@chateauhautgoujon.fr

Nous suivre

Visiter